Scouting and Eagle Scout of the Year


The mission of the Boys Scouts of America is to provide young people with a values-based program that helps build character and teaches them how to be responsible, productive members of society. Pairing Legionnaires, who posses service learned skills and unique experiences as veterans, with our nation's scouts helps the Boy Scouts in achieving its goal of building a more responsible and productive society. Because the Boy Scouts' mission is similar to that of The American Legion, through its Americanism and Children & Youth Divisions, the Legion has supported the Boy Scouts of America since 1919 at its first national convention.

Department Commander John Henry Pearcy (right) presents Eagle Scout Jack Schlickbernd, Wayne Troop 174, with the
2023 Nebraska American Legion Eagle Scout of the Year Award at the 105th Annual Department Convention.

Eagle Scout of the Year Award

To honor the hard work of those scouts who have attained the level of Eagle Scout, The American Legion Department of Nebraska annually chooses one Eagle Scout to be the Department Eagle Scout of the Year (typically in March). The Nebraska Eagle Scout of the Year winner is given a $500 cash award. The second placed Eagle Scout will receive a $300 cash award and the third placed Eagle Scout receives a $200 cash award. The Eagle Scout of the Year winner will then represent the Department of Nebraska at The American Legion's National Convention. The winner of the national competition will receive a $10,000 scholarship and the three runner's-up are each awarded $2,500 scholarships.

Eagle Scouts selected as Nebraska Eagle Scouts of the Year can enter the national competition each year as long as they meet all eligibility requirements. However, when a Department Eagle Scout of the Year is selected as National American Legion Eagle Scout of the Year or Runner-up, then they can no longer enter state competition.

Download the Eagle Scout of the Year Application. Nominations must be received by Department Headquarters no later than March 1st of each year.

Square Knot Award

The Square Knot Award recognizes members of the American Legion family who are dedicated to and actively involved in furthering the Boy Scouts of America program. The recipient receives a certificate and a gold and purple square knot that may be worn on a Scout uniform. The national commander also presents a congratulatory letter.

- Square Knot Award Brochure

Square Knot graphic

To learn more about The American Legion and the important role that the organization plays on scouting, visit The American Legion National Headquarters' Scouting web page.